According to the Portuguese legislation, the Foundation is run by three Councils with complementary functions:

The Council of Administration (aka Board of Trustees) oversees the foundation’s mid- and long-term strategy:

  • Júlio Reis M.Sc., webmaster and environmentalist (chair)
  • Anabela Carneiro B.Sc.(Hons), bank auditor (vice-chair)
  • Eliane Morais BBM, manager
  • Conceição Pascoal, the church’s secretary
  • Cidalina Baptista, shopkeeper

The Executive Council deals with the day-to-day work, according to approved plans and budget:

  • Ana Maria Reis B.Ed.(Hons), the Foundation’s executive director
  • Graça Gaspar, retired post office clerk
  • Denise Neves B.Ed., preschool teacher

The Finance Council makes sure that the financial statements and budgets are according to legal stipulations:

  • António Rosa, retired civil servant
  • Filomena Ribeiro, Christian camp warden
  • José Lourenço, retired civil servant

All council members are full members of the Alcobaça Baptist Church, according to our statutes. They are chosen by the Council of Administration for three-year terms; the current term ends October 2020.